Users

User accounts provide access to Broadsign Core. They are password-protected. A network administrator, or user with permission to create and modify other users, sets the password initially.

When a user requests to log in to the network, Broadsign Server verifies that the login information is correct. It then grants access and permissions to perform tasks on the network based on the user’s assigned user groups and privileges.

Note: We recommend that you add privileges to a group, instead of an individual user. Then, add users to the groups with the relevant privileges. Each user can be a member of multiple groups.

The “Users and User Groups” training video is part of the “Network Operations” playlist:

Note: If you are new to Broadsign Core, we suggest you start with the Network Setup playlist.

Users and User Groups: Describes how to create users, how to create and organize user groups, and how to assign privileges.

If you select “Users” from the resource tabs on the left, then right-click anywhere in the work area, you will see this menu:
User contextual menu

    • Add User: Opens the Add User Wizard.
    • Edit User: Opens the User Properties dialogue box.
    • Deactivate Users: Deactivates any selected users.
    • Add User Folder: Opens the “Add a folder” dialogue box.
    • Edit Folder: Opens the User Folder Properties dialog box.

For general information about adding, editing and deactivating resources, see Resources – Overview.

To add a user, use one of the following methods:

    • Go to the Operations ribbon, and click on the User icon.

Add a user from the Operations ribbon

    • From the resource tabs on the left, select “Users”. Then, right-click anywhere in the work area. From the contextual menu, select Add User.

By default, the Add User Wizard contains the following pages:

    • Welcome: Name the user group.
    • Password Setup: Enter a password for the user. For more enforced security, the following rules apply when choosing a password for your user:
        • A minimum of 8 characters
        • A minimum of 1 non-alphabetic character

The Password Setup page of the Add User Wizard

    • Username: Enter the username (login name) of the user.

The Username page of the Add User Wizard

    • Scoping: Restrict access for the user so that they can only see resources in certain folders. See Edit User Properties below.

The Scoping page of the Add User Wizard

    • Groups: If you want, at this stage you can assign a user to a group.

The Groups page of the Add User Wizard

Single sign-on is a system used to associate multiple user accounts with the same email. This includes Broadsign Administrator user accounts and Broadsign Creator user accounts. With single sign-on, the same credentials can be used to obtain access to all associated accounts. The Broadsign Administrator interface allows a user to quickly swap between other associated accounts. See Options and Domain Properties – The Options Menu.

The steps to follow are:

  1. In Broadsign Administrator, edit the user and set the associated email address.
  2. A confirmation email will be sent to the address entered.

When you first use an email for single sign-on, the first user account associated with it becomes the master user account. This can be changed later from the Broadsign Administrator once more user accounts become associated with that email (see “Edit User Properties – The Credentials Tab” below).

To edit a user, use one of the following methods:

    • From the list panel, select a user. Then, from the view bar, select Edit.

Select Edit from the view bar

    • From the list panel, double-click on a user.

These are the tabs of a user’s properties:

The General Tab


In the General tab, you can find the following information:

    • Id: The unique ID# of the user resource.
    • Name: The name of the resource. You can edit this field.
    • Active: If selected, the resource is active. By deselecting the box, you will be the resource into an inactive state. For more information, see Resources – Overview.

The Credentials Tab


In the Credentials tab, you can find the following information and carry out the following tasks:

    • Username: The username for signing in to Broadsign Administrator (also applies to single sign-on). For more information, see Overview (above).
    • Change Password: Opens the Change Password dialogue box. Change the password you use to sign on with the username.
    • Email: Shows the email associated with the user.
    • Change Email: Opens the Change Email Address dialogue box. You can clear the existing email or add a new email address.
    • This User is master for its group: Available for selection when the user has a confirmed email associated with it. When selected, the user becomes the Master for all associated single sign-on users for the installation (see Single Sign-On, above).
    • Public Key Fingerprint: A unique alphanumeric code that Broadsign provides for users integrating with Broadsign Open API. For more information, see PHP Developers – Step Two: Authenticate Your Broadsign Open User and Java Developers – Step Two: Authenticate Your Broadsign Open User.

The Groups Tab


In the Groups tab, you can see the groups to which the user belongs. See User Groups.

When a user group is associated with a user, that user gains all privileges possessed by it.

You can add additional user groups; in fact, a user can have multiple user groups assigned to him. In this case, the user will receive a combination of all privileges assigned to them.

The Privileges Tab


In the Privileges tab, you can assign privileges directly to a user. This way, you can grant access to functionalities needed by exceptional users without granting them access to an entire user group. In short, privileges describe what a user can do.

Also, you can add, edit or remove privileges (if you, yourself, have adequate privileges). A description accompanies each privilege.

For a tutorial describing privileges, see Network Operations – Add Users and User Groups.

The Scoping Tab


In the Scoping tab, you can restrict a user’s access to only network areas they need to perform their tasks. Privileges, described above, configure what a user can do. Scoping configures where they can do it.

Scoping permits the creation of several “subdomains” for scoped users within your own domain. Scoping can be defined per user or per user group for easier management.

For a tutorial describing scoping, see Network Operations – Scoping.

In the list panel of explorer view, each resource has a column selector menu. With this menu, you can configure the list panel to display information you want.

To access a resource’s column selector menu:

  1. From the view bar, select Explorer view.
  2. In the list panel, hover your pointer over the panel header.
  3. Right-click, and the column selector menu will appear.
  4. Select as many column options as you want.